Home » Relationships » Song for a friend

Song for a friend

lonely sea

 

I thought you were someone                                                                                      

I guess that you’re not.       

I got a lot less

than I thought

than I thought.

Should have known next time

meant never.

 

Those things that you said

which ones did you mean?

Seems me we don’t speak the same language.

Did we ever?

Should have known next time

meant never.

 

Found myself looking for a letter

One that will never arrive.

It’ really doesn’t matter, anyway,

I deleted your address from my hard drive.

I should have known next time

meant never.

Should have known it meant

not ever.

 

I’ve wrapped up my love

and put it away

So if I say stay

I mean never.

Should have known your heart

much better

that next time means

not ever.

9 thoughts on “Song for a friend

  1. I just had an incident with what I thought was a close friend. Did you write this for me? Very touching. Thank you for sharing

  2. I just had an incident with what I thought was a close friend, and I felt you wrote this for me. Of course, it reminds me that I can be that “not ever” friend, and provides the motivation to not be. Very touching. Thank you for sharing, and I am sorry you have to go through it too.

  3. Oh Patti, what a poignant, lovely, sad poem. It breaks my heart for you, and at the same time, your poem arouses some guilt in me for the times that I have disappointed people. If there is music to accompany the poem, I’d love to hear it…..

  4. Really love these lyrics! So talented, Ms. Brigham! Constantly surprising us with your versatility. I agree with other comments. I can see myself from both perspectives – disappointed and the disappoint-er.

Leave a Reply

